‘Even as a strong supporter of the Second Amendment, I have a red line.’

David Todd is the Chief of Police in Fargo, North Dakota and one of his biggest fears is losing one of his officers. That happened in 2016, when Officer Jason Moszer answered a call about a domestic violence dispute.

More officers are killed on domestic dispute calls than any other service call. Chief Todd says closing loopholes that allow domestic abusers to possess guns will save lives. “Individuals with violent records like domestic violence should never be allowed to own a gun,” he said. Earlier this month, I had the pleasure to meet Chief Todd and video tape this Op-Ed for the New York Times, working with the amazing producer Matteen Mokalla.


Faculty awards support creation of innovative curriculum


Awards fund unique enhancements to undergraduate courses in two fields

December 14, 2017 | By Kayla Stoner
Craig Duff and Rick Gaber

Professors Richard Gaber and Craig Duff, 2018 recipients of The Alumnae of Northwestern University’s Award for Curriculum Development, will spend the summer developing enhancements for courses in biological sciences and in journalism.

The awards, administered by the Office of the Provost, provide $12,500 to each professor to support the development of innovative course materials and new modes of teaching.

Gaber will use the funds to travel the U.S. gathering fungus specimens for students’ use in laboratory classes. Duff will visit several news media outlets to observe and subsequently teach students about the state-of-the-art multimedia production methods being used by top tier media today.

With a focus on active learning, critical thinking and the development of relevant skills, each professor’s projects will prepare students for greater success within and outside of their disciplines. Each project embodies the innovation that is paramount for recipients of The Alumnae Award for Curriculum Development, helping to grow and strengthen the undergraduate curriculum at Northwestern in creative ways.
Continue reading “Faculty awards support creation of innovative curriculum”